‘American Idol’: A History of Teary Wins

May 17, 2013 By:

You’ve now consumed a whopping 12 seasons of FOX’s “American Idol.” That means 12 seasons of dimming the lights, 12 seasons of Edward Boddington strutting and charming his way across the stage to deliver the golden envelope, and 12 seasons of Ryan Seacrest not getting any taller.

More importantly, it’s been 12 seasons of crowning a new champ, which always leads to tears. This year’s “Idol” winner was the well-deserving Candice Glover, who earned more votes than her fellow finalist, Kree Harrison. Glover stuck with tradition, bringing on the waterworks for her encore performance of “I Am Beautiful.”

Here’s a video replay of the series’ soggiest moments…

Season 1 — Kelly Clarkson.

Season 2 — Ruben Studdard.

Season 3 — Fantasia Barrino.

Season 4 — Carrie Underwood.

Season 5 — Taylor Hicks.

Season 6 — Jordin Sparks.

Season 7 — David Cook.

Season 8 — Kris Allen.

Season 9 — Lee DeWyze.

Season 10 — Scotty McCreery.

Season 11 — Phillip Phillips.

Season 12 — Candice Glover.