Supergroup Chickenfoot Releases New Album Details

March 27, 2009 By:
Supergroup Chickenfoot Releases New Album Details

Four of rock’s most successful musicians have combined their talents to create the much-anticipated rock group Chickenfoot.

The members are guitarist Joe Satriani, Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Chad Smith, former Van Halen bassist Michael Anthony, and the legendary Sammy Hagar. The four banded together months ago and have been diligently working on their self-titled album Chickenfoot, to be released in June.

Each band member has had a long past in the music industry prior to this venture; Satriani had his own solo career as a respected guitarist; Chad Smith is the drummer of world renowned rock band The Red Hot Chili Peppers; and Michael Anthony and Sammy Hagar have been working together since their days as lead bassist and singer, respectively, in Van Halen.

These talented individuals were aching to work together in a band that produced rock like they never have before.

Sammy says, “I really wasn’t looking to have a real band. But…the minute we started jamming it was obvious that this is something that needs to be heard.”

Satriani adds, “After just a few songs, it became stunningly obvious that we shared a musical agenda and an overall agenda. When I play with Chickenfoot, I find myself wanting to give them more all the time. I don’t hold anything back. I think the rest of the guys feel the same way.”

Chickenfoot is an 11-track record that’s all hard rock, produced by Andy Johns (Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones) and mixed by Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica). The four guys will also have the honor of appearing on the cover of Guitar World magazine on stands in April. Joe Bosso of Guitar World says, “Clearly enthusiasm is no problem in the land of Chickenfoot…the finished album is an 11-song slab of raging rock…the songs stomp and snort and do all the things that great rock songs should do.”

Satriani adds that forming this band allowed him to do things with music he was never able to do before. He says, “I needed a band like this to make those songs come alive.”

Full Chickenfoot Track Listing:

1. Avenida Revolution

2. Soap on a Rope

3. Sexy Little Thing

4. Oh Yeah

5. Runnin’ Out

6. Get It Up

7. Down the Drain

8. My Kinda Girl

9. Learning to Fall

10.Turnin’ Left

11. Future in the Past

For more information about Chickenfoot and the upcoming self-titled debut album Chickenfoot, please visit