Country Music Awards Nominees Announced

September 5, 2012 By:
Country Music Awards Nominees Announced

“Good Morning America” got a whole lot “Good Morning America, Y’all!” when the official nominees for the 46th annual Country Music Awards were revealed live on the show this morning. Who needs a hot cup of coffee when you can have yee-hawin’ cowboys and cowgirls to wake you up?

Leading this rodeo is newcomer Eric Church whose #1 single "Springsteen" heated up the Billboard charts earlier this year —is up for “Album of the Year,” “Single,” “Song,” “Male Vocalist,” and “Music Video”—the most of any other nominee this season with a total of five nominations.

However, there was NO nod for “Entertainer of the Year” for Eric Church because prestigious entertainment awards nominations are super confusing like that.

Instead that honor includes Taylor Swift, lone gal-slinger in a roundup of country guitar-strumming dudes like Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, and Blake Shelton.

Along those familiar lines, Kelly Clarkson and Luke Bryan shake the list up with their first individual nominees.

However, we’ll kick off the awards show early by handing out the trophy for The Most Shocking CMA Nomination this year to…Snoop Dogg?

Sharpen your spurs for the full list of nominees below:

Entertainer of the Year: Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, and Taylor Swift

Album of the Year: Eric Church’s Chief, Miranda Lambert’sFour the Record, Dierks Bentley’s Home, Lady Antebellum’sOwn the Night, and Luke Bryan’s tailgates & tanlines.

Single of the Year: Jason Aldean’s “Dirt Road Anthem,” Blake Shelton’s “God Gave Me You,” Dierks Bentley’s “Home,” Little Big Town’s “Pontoon,” and Eric Church’s “Springsteen”

Song of the Year (award to songwriters): “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” (Will Hoge and Eric Paslay), “God Gave Me You” (Dave Barnes), “Home” (Dan Wilson, Brett Beavers, and Dierks Bentley), “Over You” (Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton), and “Springsteen” (Eric Church, Ryan Tyndell, and Jeff Hyde)

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Blake Shelton, and Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year: Kelly Clarkson, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Taylor Swift, and Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year: Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, The Band Perry, and Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year: Big & Rich, Love and Theft, Sugarland, The Civil Wars, and Thompson Square

New Artist of the Year: Lee Brice, Brantley Gilbert, Hunter Hayes, Love and Theft, and Thompson Square

Music Video of the Year: Kenny Chesney’s “Come Over,” Miranda Lambert’s “Over You,” Little Big Town’s “Pontoon,” Toby Keith’s “Red Solo Cup,” and Eric Church’s “Springsteen”

Musical Event of the Year: “Dixie Highway” (Alan Jackson featuring Zac Brown Band), “Feel Like a Rock Star” (Kenny Chesney duet with Tim McGraw), “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die” (Willie Nelson with Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson, and Jamey Johnson), “Safe & Sound” (Taylor Swift featuring the Civil Wars), and “Stuck on You” (Lionel Richie with Darius Rucker)

Musician of the Year: Sam Bush (Mandolin), Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar), Dan Huff (Guitar), Brent Mason (Guitar), and Mac McAnally (Guitar)