Dido Crowned Songwriter Of The Year

October 15, 2008 By:
Dido Crowned Songwriter Of The Year

Dido was named Songwriter of the Year at today’s 28th annual ASCAP Awards in London. The event honored Ashford & Simpson, and Kate Nash and The Kooks received special awards.

Nash received the ASCAP Vanguard Award for her platinum selling debut album, Made of Bricks, and The Kooks were honoured with the ASCAP College Award for their multi-platinum selling debut album, Inside In/Inside Out.

Corinne Bailey Rae’s hit Put Your Records On was named Song of the Year.Radiohead star Jonny Greenwood, Howard Goodall and Elizabeth Fraser were honored for their film and TV theme work.

Greenwood composed the score for There Will Be Blood, Goodall created the music for Mr Bean’s Holiday and Fraser was honoured for her work on House.

Other honorees included Academy Award-winning songwriter Annie Lennox, who collected her eighth ASCAP Award, Paulo Nutini, Phil Collins, Def Leppard, The Human League, Paul McCartney, New Order, Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, U2 and Yusuf Islam.