Album Releases: John Mayer, Earl Sweatshirt, Plus More

August 20, 2013 By:
While you’re out doing your back-to-school shopping or your school-is-over-forever shopping, be sure to pick up some new music. Whether you’re wanting some new hip-hop, alternative rock, or a new John Mayer ballad, this week has got what you need. Here’s your album releases for August 20th.  

A$AP Ferg – Trap Lord. Boasting an impressive list of featured artists including A$AP Rocky, Schoolboy Q, and Waka Flaka Flame, Ferg’s debut is sure to go over well. Via A$AP Worldwide, Polo Grounds Music, and RCA Records.
Earl Sweatshirt – Doris. The long-awaited studio debut from Sweatshirt is here. A good portion of Odd Future make appearances on the album, which is complemented by a top-notch production team. From Tan Cressida and Columbia Records. 
John Mayer – Paradise Valley. While the album was available to stream last week, today is its actual release. Critics are calling it similar to his last effort, but Mayer probably doesn’t care what anyone thinks. Via Columbia Records and Sony Music.
Stereophonics – Graffiti on the Train. This is their first album since 2009 and their eighth effort so far. Clearly, alt. rock is far from dead. From Stylus Records. 
Superchunk – I Hate Music. If you’re hip, you’re probably going to love this one. Critics have been giving it good marks so far, this is their tenth LP and the first since 2010. Via Merge Records.